Email click rate benchmarks
Email click rate is the share of delivered emails in which a recipient clicked a link. Here is every published figure we can show, side by side, with what each one counts.
0.74% to 6.25%
Most published campaign click rates sit between about 1% and 3%: MailerLite's 2025 median is 2.09%. E-commerce campaigns click lower (0.74% at Omnisend) and automated emails far higher (4.66% to 6.25%). Clicks are the steadier signal, because Apple Mail's automatic opens do not trigger them; the bigger gaps come from what is counted: unique or total clicks, campaigns or automations, and whether the rate is divided by delivered emails or by opens. 25 figures from 10 sources, grouped by what they count (click-to-open rate is charted too, but not part of the headline range). We never average them.
Published email click rate figures by way of counting, from 0.74% to 11.87%. Every figure is listed in the source list below.
Tap or hover a point to see its source.
Key findings
Each one cites its source figures.
MailerLite's 2025 median across 3.6 million campaigns is the broadest current click rate we can show. Klaviyo campaigns average 1.69%, Higher Logic's associations 2.68% and Benchmark Email's users 1.45%.
MailerLiteKlaviyoHigher LogicBenchmark EmailKlaviyo's automated flows click at more than three times the rate of its campaigns, although both open at about 31–32%. Omnisend shows the same gap (4.66% vs 0.74%). Judge automations by clicks, not opens.
KlaviyoOmnisendE-commerce campaigns click lower than the all-industry figures: 0.74% for Omnisend's campaigns and 1.07% for MailerLite's e-commerce median. Compare a store's campaigns with e-commerce figures.
OmnisendMailerLiteShow 2 more findings
Dotdigital's Americas data gives 1.2% when each recipient who clicks counts once and 2.5% when every click counts. Check which one a benchmark reports before comparing.
DotdigitalMailerLite's median click-to-open rate. Because it divides clicks by opens, how opens are counted moves it: Omnisend's campaigns report 2.44% against 11.87% for automations.
MailerLiteOmnisendSame data, different answers
How the way of counting changes the number, on one scale.
Unique vs total clicks
Dotdigital publishes both counts for the same campaigns: total clicks run two to three times the unique rate.
Click-to-open rate depends on how opens are counted
Same idea, very different numbers: the denominator is opens, and opens are where the definitions differ most.
Source by source
Open any source for its definition, sample and method.
MailerLiteEmail Marketing Benchmarks 2025: Is Your Open Rate on Track · 2025 edition2.09%click rate (campaigns)6.81%click-to-open rateGrade A
- What counts
- Campaign emails only. 'Open rate shows the percentage of the total campaign recipients who opened the email.' Unique vs total opens not stated on the page. Apple MPP opens included.
- Statistic
- Median (methodology says medians; the page's own sentences say 'average')
- Sample
- Over 3.6 million campaigns sent from 181,000 approved accounts
- Data window
- December 2024 – November 2025 (as stated)
- Apple's automatic opens
- Included. "Apple Mail Privacy Protection automatically marks emails sent to Apple Mail clients as opened. This means real open rates are lower than the metrics you see."
- Method
- A full year of MailerLite campaign data from approved accounts; the median is reported for every benchmark; broken down by 46 industries and 7 regions; compared with the 2024 edition.
- Published cuts
- industry (46) · region (7, incl. US and Canada, Europe) · metric: open, click, click-to-open, unsubscribe
- Limitations
- Vendor-reported: MailerLite customers only (small-business and creator skew)
- Apple MPP opens are included; MailerLite says real open rates are lower
- Unique vs total opens not defined on the page
- Wording inconsistency: sentences say 'average' while the methodology states medians
- Campaigns only; automated emails are not benchmarked
- Licence
- Terms (updated 2026-09-22, §23) restrict copying the Service, not published website content; silent on citing data. Headline plus a handful of cuts, attributed and linked.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
OmnisendEmail marketing benchmarks: What good looks like in 2026 · 2026 article (2025 data)0.74%campaigns · Campaigns4.66%automated emails2.44%campaigns · CampaignsGrade B
- What counts
- Campaign vs automated emails from e-commerce stores; open-rate formula and unique vs total opens not stated. Apple MPP opens included.
- Statistic
- Not stated
- Sample
- 27,000+ brands; more than 20 billion campaign emails and 470 million automated email sends
- Data window
- Calendar year 2025
- Apple's automatic opens
- Included. "since 2021, Apple Mail's Mail Privacy Protection has been able to preload tracking pixels, which can make some emails appear opened before a subscriber reads them."
- Method
- Omnisend's own 2025 sending data for a 27,000+ brand set, split into campaigns and automations, reporting open, click, click-to-open and conversion rates.
- Published cuts
- campaign vs automated
- Limitations
- E-commerce senders only
- Statistic not stated
- A different, smaller brand set than the 2026 report; its automated open rate (30.21%) contradicts the report's 38%
- Apple MPP opens included (the article says so)
- Licence
- Same Omnisend terms as the report (restriction targets 'Omnisend Content' provided as part of the Services). A few figures, attributed and linked.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
DotdigitalEmail and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: Americas edition · 2026 edition (public regional post; full Global Benchmark Report is gated)2.5%click rate (campaigns), Americas1.2%unique click rate, Americas2.8%click-to-open rate, AmericasGrade B
- What counts
- Publishes both: open rate = total opened emails ÷ delivered × 100 (repeat opens count); unique open rate = unique openers ÷ delivered × 100.
- Statistic
- Averaged ('anonymized and averaged'); method of averaging not stated
- Sample
- Over a billion real marketing campaign sends
- Data window
- Not stated
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not mentioned on the page.
- Method
- Anonymised Dotdigital customer campaign data, averaged; formulas given for every metric; regional editions for Americas, EMEA and APAC.
- Published cuts
- region (Americas, EMEA, APAC in public posts) · industry and channel (gated full report) · email vs SMS
- Limitations
- Data window not stated
- Headline 'open rate' counts total opens, so it is not comparable with unique-open benchmarks
- Apple MPP not mentioned
- Vendor-reported; enterprise/retail customer mix
- Published click-to-open rate (2.8%) does not reconcile with the published CTR (2.5%) and open rate (58.8%), so the rates were evidently averaged separately; treat each as its own figure
- Licence
- Website terms (updated 2019-01-16) assert ownership of site content but contain no consent requirement or ban on citing figures. Regional figures quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
DotdigitalEmail and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: EMEA edition · 2026 edition (companion regional post to the Americas edition)4.4%click rate (campaigns), EMEA1.5%unique click rate, EMEA4.1%click-to-open rate, EMEAGrade B
- What counts
- Same formulas as the Americas edition: total-open and unique-open rates both published.
- Statistic
- Averaged (method not stated)
- Sample
- Over a billion anonymized campaigns (shared Dotdigital dataset)
- Data window
- Not stated
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not mentioned on the page.
- Method
- Regional cut of Dotdigital's 2026 benchmark dataset.
- Published cuts
- region (EMEA) · email vs SMS
- Limitations
- Data window not stated
- Apple MPP not mentioned
- Vendor-reported; enterprise/retail customer mix
- Licence
- Same Dotdigital website terms (silent on citing figures).
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
DotdigitalEmail and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: APAC edition · 2026 edition (companion regional post)1.8%click rate (campaigns), APAC2.8%click-to-open rate, APACGrade B
- What counts
- Same formulas as the Americas edition: total-open and unique-open rates both published.
- Statistic
- Averaged (method not stated)
- Sample
- Over a billion campaigns (shared Dotdigital dataset)
- Data window
- Not stated (year-over-year changes published)
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not mentioned on the page.
- Method
- Regional cut of Dotdigital's 2026 benchmark dataset, with year-over-year changes.
- Published cuts
- region (APAC) · email vs SMS
- Limitations
- Data window not stated
- Apple MPP not mentioned
- Year-over-year changes appear to be relative (%) changes, not points; the page does not say
- Licence
- Same Dotdigital website terms (silent on citing figures).
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Show all 10 sources
Benchmark EmailEmail Marketing Benchmarks By Industry and Region · Undated1.45%click rate (campaigns)Grade B
- What counts
- Not stated (unique vs total opens, denominator and MPP treatment not given).
- Statistic
- Average
- Sample
- 68,000 users in over 90 industries across 21 regions
- Data window
- Not stated
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not stated.
- Method
- Benchmark Email's own user data, broken down by industry, region and employee-size bracket.
- Published cuts
- industry (90+) · region (21) · company size (employee brackets)
- Limitations
- No publication date or data year, so it cannot be placed on a timeline
- Definition and MPP treatment not stated
- Vendor-reported; SMB skew
- Licence
- Terms of use (updated 2026-07-10) cover the platform; silent on citing website content. Overall figure quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Campaign Monitor (Marigold)Ultimate Email Marketing Benchmarks for 2022: By Industry and Day · 2022 edition (latest; no newer edition found) · older data2.3%click rate (campaigns)10.5%click-to-open rateGrade A
- What counts
- Not formally defined on the page.
- Statistic
- Average
- Sample
- Over 100 billion emails sent across Marigold's platforms in 2021
- Data window
- Calendar year 2021
- Apple's automatic opens
- Partly affected. "Mail Privacy Protection, it's a new privacy feature, released by Apple in September 2021"
- Method
- Emails sent across Campaign Monitor/Marigold platforms in 2021, by industry, day of week and region, with year-on-year change.
- Published cuts
- industry · day of week · region (AMER, UK, EU, APAC)
- Limitations
- Stale: 2021 data, the year MPP launched (September 2021)
- Pooled several Marigold platforms
- Definitions not stated
- Checked 2026-09-28: Campaign Monitor's 'Small Business Marketing 2025 – Part III' guide contains no newer benchmark data
- Licence
- Only customer-facing policies found (not re-opened this pass; assessed 2026-09-24 as silent on website content). Headline figure with stale badge.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
KlaviyoThe abandoned cart benchmarks report: 2024 data to inform your strategy · May 2024 · older data6.25%abandoned-cart flowsGrade A
- What counts
- Abandoned-cart flow emails only; open-rate definition not stated.
- Statistic
- Average, plus top 10% of brands
- Sample
- Over 143,000 abandoned-cart flows sent in 2023
- Data window
- Calendar year 2023
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not mentioned.
- Method
- 2023 performance data from abandoned-cart flows, comparing the average e-commerce brand with the top 10%, by industry vertical.
- Published cuts
- industry vertical · average vs top 10%
- Limitations
- Stale (2023 data); no newer abandoned-cart edition found
- One flow type only
- E-commerce only
- MPP not mentioned
- Licence
- Website terms (updated 2024-10-03) assert ownership and bar automated copying; no ban on quoting and no consent requirement. One figure quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Klaviyo2026 Email Marketing Benchmarks by Industry · 2026 edition (companion UK article: https://www.klaviyo.com/uk/blog/email-marketing-benchmarks-open-click-and-conversion-rates, 2026-02-24)1.69%campaigns, all verticals3.38%campaigns, top 10% of senders5.58%flows, all verticalsGrade B
- What counts
- Campaigns ('one-off emails sent to a specific marketing list') vs flows ('behaviour-triggered email sequences'); open-rate formula not stated; Apple MPP opens appear to be included (Klaviyo says MPP opens every email for enabled users).
- Statistic
- Average, plus top 10% of senders
- Sample
- Over 183,000 Klaviyo customers (product page); the UK article says 'data from over 205,000 brands'
- Data window
- Not stated
- Apple's automatic opens
- Acknowledged, not removed. "Open rate isn't 100% effective because Apple 'opens' each email for any user with an enabled Apple MPP, whether or not they actually open the email. But it can still be a good directional metric."
- Method
- Klaviyo customer sending data, all verticals and by industry, with average and top-10% tiers for campaigns and flows (open, click, placed-order rate).
- Published cuts
- email type (campaigns vs flows) · industry · average vs top 10%
- Limitations
- Data window not stated
- Sample stated inconsistently (183,000 customers vs 205,000 brands)
- E-commerce only
- Open-rate definition not stated
- Top-10% values are percentile tiers, not averages
- Licence
- Klaviyo website terms (updated 2024-10-03): ownership statement and a ban on automated copying; no personal-use-only clause, no consent requirement, silent on quoting. Headline plus a few cuts, attributed.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Higher Logic2025–2026 Association Email Benchmark Report · 2025–2026 edition (full report gated; figures from the public release and https://www.higherlogic.com/blog/association-email-benchmark-insights-for-2026/)2.68%click rate (campaigns)Grade B
- What counts
- All emails sent by member organisations on Higher Logic (one-time and automated); unique vs total opens and MPP treatment not stated in public pages.
- Statistic
- Average
- Sample
- Approximately 1,500 associations and nonprofits; more than 2 billion emails sent in 2025
- Data window
- Calendar year 2025 (multi-year trends 2022–2025)
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not stated in the public release or article.
- Method
- Higher Logic customer sending data for associations and nonprofits, with multi-year trends and segment benchmarks (list size, subject-line length, automated vs one-time) in the gated report.
- Published cuts
- list size · subject-line length · automated vs one-time sends · organisation type (associations and nonprofits)
- Limitations
- Association and nonprofit senders only
- Vendor-reported
- MPP treatment and open definition not stated publicly
- Methodology detail is in the gated report, not verified
- Licence
- Higher Logic's legal page lists subscription, AI, API, DPA, privacy and acceptable-use documents but no website terms of use, so terms are silent on citing published figures. Headline figures quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
6 more publishers, linked but not quoted
These publishers' terms do not allow their figures to be reproduced without permission (or we could not confirm that they do), so we link to their reports instead of showing the numbers.
- Constant Contact: What Is a Good Open Rate For Email in 2026? · 2026 (Q1 2026 data)
- M+R: M+R Benchmarks 2026: Email messaging · 2026 edition
- Mailchimp: Email Marketing Benchmarks and Metrics Businesses Should Track · Data last updated December 2023
- GetResponse: 2024 Email Marketing Benchmarks · 2024 edition (no newer edition found)
- Brevo: Email Marketing Benchmarks: Region & Industry Data (2026) · 2026 edition
- ActiveCampaign: 2026 ActiveCampaign Email Marketing Benchmarks: Open & Click Rates by Industry · January 2026
By industry and region
Selected figures, each with its source. Full tables live in each publisher's report.
Why sources disagree
Each factor moves the number on its own.
Apple Mail Privacy Protection registers opens by downloading email content in the background; it does not click links. That makes click rate easier to compare across platforms than open rate.
Apple, Mail Privacy ProtectionWhen recorded opens rise faster than clicks, click-to-open falls: Dotdigital's APAC open rate rose 11.8% year on year while its click-to-open rate fell 18.5%, and Campaign Monitor recorded opens up 3.5 and click-to-open down 3.6 in 2021.
Dotdigital (APAC, 2026 edition); Campaign Monitor (2022 edition)Unique or total clicks
A unique click rate counts each recipient once; a total click rate counts every click. Dotdigital publishes both for the same sends (1.2% vs 2.5% in the Americas, 1.5% vs 4.4% in EMEA). Most other publishers do not say which they use.
Delivered emails or opens
Click rate divides clicks by delivered emails; click-to-open rate divides them by opens. Because Apple's automatic opens inflate the open count, click-to-open rates fall even when people click just as much.
Campaigns, automations or everything
Automated emails reach people at a moment of intent and click far more: Klaviyo's flows 5.58% against 1.69% for campaigns, Omnisend's 4.66% against 0.74%, and Klaviyo's abandoned-cart flows 6.25% in 2023. Higher Logic pools one-time and automated sends.
Who sends through the platform
Klaviyo and Omnisend serve online stores, Higher Logic associations and nonprofits, MailerLite and Benchmark Email mostly small businesses. In MailerLite's own data, non-profits click at 2.9% and e-commerce senders at 1.07%.
Median, average or top tier
MailerLite reports medians; Klaviyo, Higher Logic, Benchmark Email and Campaign Monitor report averages; Dotdigital's figures are 'anonymized and averaged'. Klaviyo also publishes a top-10% tier (3.38% for campaigns), a threshold rather than a typical result.
Which period, and which edition
Campaign Monitor's figures describe 2021, Klaviyo's abandoned-cart report 2023, and Benchmark Email's page carries no date. Dotdigital's and Klaviyo's 2026 pages do not state a data window.
What is a good email click rate?
It depends on how your platform counts and who you send to.
Campaigns in general
Most published campaign click rates fall between about 1.4% and 2.7%: MailerLite's median 2.09%, Klaviyo 1.69%, Higher Logic 2.68%, Benchmark Email 1.45%. Treat Klaviyo's top-10% tier (3.38%) as a high bar, not a typical result.
E-commerce campaigns
Lower: Omnisend's campaigns click at 0.74% and MailerLite's e-commerce median is 1.07%. A store's promotional campaigns are best compared with these, not with all-industry medians.
Automated emails
Much higher: 4.66% (Omnisend) to 5.58% (Klaviyo flows), and 6.25% for Klaviyo's abandoned-cart flows in 2023. If your flows click below your campaigns, look at their triggers and timing.
Non-profits and associations
MailerLite's non-profit median is 2.9% and Higher Logic's associations and nonprofits average 2.68%, much closer than their open rates (52.38% and 33.54%), which is why click rate is the fairer comparison here.
B2B and software senders
No source we can quote publishes a B2B-wide click rate. MailerLite's 2025 median for 'Software and web app' senders is 1.15%, below its all-industry median.
Before you compare
- Never average these figures together: they count unique or total clicks, campaigns or automations, medians or averages.
- Do not compare a click-to-open rate with a click rate: one divides by opens, the other by delivered emails.
- Top-10% figures (Klaviyo 3.38% for campaigns) are performance tiers, not typical results.
Show 3 more cautions
- Click-to-open rates fall when opens are inflated by Apple's automatic opens, even if people click just as much. Read them alongside click rate.
- Every figure here comes from a vendor's own customers, so it reflects that platform's customer mix, not the whole market.
- Several sources leave out basics: Dotdigital and Klaviyo give no data window, and Benchmark Email's page carries no date.
How to calculate email click rate
- Use unique clicks (each recipient once) unless you state otherwise; Dotdigital's total-click rate runs two to three times its unique rate.
- Click-to-open rate = emails with a click ÷ emails opened × 100. It measures the email's content once opened, but inherits every problem with open counts.
- Compare campaigns with campaigns and automations with automations: the two differ several times over.
Questions about email click rates
Tools to measure and improve it
Chosen for what they do, not ranked.
Reports clicks for campaigns and flows separately, the split that matters most on this page.
Campaign and automation click reporting side by side for online stores.
Clear click and click-to-open reporting; MailerLite also publishes the medians above.
Priced by emails sent rather than list size, with per-campaign click reporting.
Sources and licence notes16 sources · 10 quoted · 6 linked only · checked Sep 28, 2026
- MailerLite, Email Marketing Benchmarks 2025: Is Your Open Rate on Track · 2025 edition · last checked Sep 28, 2026Terms (updated 2026-09-22, §23) restrict copying the Service, not published website content; silent on citing data. Headline plus a handful of cuts, attributed and linked.
- Omnisend, Email marketing benchmarks: What good looks like in 2026 · 2026 article (2025 data) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Same Omnisend terms as the report (restriction targets 'Omnisend Content' provided as part of the Services). A few figures, attributed and linked.
- Dotdigital, Email and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: Americas edition · 2026 edition (public regional post; full Global Benchmark Report is gated) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Website terms (updated 2019-01-16) assert ownership of site content but contain no consent requirement or ban on citing figures. Regional figures quoted with attribution.
- Dotdigital, Email and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: EMEA edition · 2026 edition (companion regional post to the Americas edition) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Same Dotdigital website terms (silent on citing figures).
- Dotdigital, Email and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: APAC edition · 2026 edition (companion regional post) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Same Dotdigital website terms (silent on citing figures).
- Benchmark Email, Email Marketing Benchmarks By Industry and Region · Undated · last checked Sep 28, 2026Terms of use (updated 2026-07-10) cover the platform; silent on citing website content. Overall figure quoted with attribution.
- Campaign Monitor (Marigold), Ultimate Email Marketing Benchmarks for 2022: By Industry and Day · 2022 edition (latest; no newer edition found) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Only customer-facing policies found (not re-opened this pass; assessed 2026-09-24 as silent on website content). Headline figure with stale badge.
- Klaviyo, The abandoned cart benchmarks report: 2024 data to inform your strategy · May 2024 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Website terms (updated 2024-10-03) assert ownership and bar automated copying; no ban on quoting and no consent requirement. One figure quoted with attribution.
- Klaviyo, 2026 Email Marketing Benchmarks by Industry · 2026 edition (companion UK article: https://www.klaviyo.com/uk/blog/email-marketing-benchmarks-open-click-and-conversion-rates, 2026-02-24) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Klaviyo website terms (updated 2024-10-03): ownership statement and a ban on automated copying; no personal-use-only clause, no consent requirement, silent on quoting. Headline plus a few cuts, attributed.
- Higher Logic, 2025–2026 Association Email Benchmark Report · 2025–2026 edition (full report gated; figures from the public release and https://www.higherlogic.com/blog/association-email-benchmark-insights-for-2026/) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Higher Logic's legal page lists subscription, AI, API, DPA, privacy and acceptable-use documents but no website terms of use, so terms are silent on citing published figures. Headline figures quoted with attribution.
- Constant Contact, What Is a Good Open Rate For Email in 2026? · 2026 (Q1 2026 data) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. PENDING: the terms page (https://www.constantcontact.com/legal/terms) returns HTTP 403 or a CAPTCHA to our fetcher, so the terms could not be read. Link only until someone reads them in a browser; move to quote if they are silent on citing.
- M+R, M+R Benchmarks 2026: Email messaging · 2026 edition · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. PENDING: no website terms found (only '© M+R 2026' and a privacy policy at https://www.mrss.com/privacy-policy/). Likely quote-eligible once sample and terms are confirmed; link only until then.
- Mailchimp, Email Marketing Benchmarks and Metrics Businesses Should Track · Data last updated December 2023 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Kept link_only. RE-CHECK FINDING: the Standard Terms contain an ownership clause (§15) but no 'prior written consent', 'no reproduction' or 'personal use only' clause for Mailchimp Site content. Under §8.5 as written that reads as 'silent', which would make the source quote-eligible. Owner decision needed.
- GetResponse, 2024 Email Marketing Benchmarks · 2024 edition (no newer edition found) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Confirmed link_only: terms (effective 2026-06-09, §XIII) require express written consent to reproduce 'GetResponse Property', defined to include content on the Site and Websites.
- Brevo, Email Marketing Benchmarks: Region & Industry Data (2026) · 2026 edition · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Confirmed link_only: terms (version 2025-10-01, §8.2) prohibit copying or republishing site Contents without prior written permission.
- ActiveCampaign, 2026 ActiveCampaign Email Marketing Benchmarks: Open & Click Rates by Industry · January 2026 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Confirmed link_only: Terms of Service (updated 2025-12-23, §8) prohibit copying or displaying ActiveCampaign Content without prior written permission.
These are figures reported by the platforms themselves about their own customers; we do not measure them ourselves. Found an error or a newer edition? Tell us
