Conversion GemsConversion Gems

Facebook ads CTR benchmarks

Facebook ads CTR is the share of times people who saw a Facebook or Instagram ad clicked it. Here is every published figure we can show, side by side, with what each one counts.

Compiled by the Conversion Gems editorial team · sources checked Oct 1, 2026
Published Facebook ads CTRs, source by source

1.18% to 2.73%

Published Facebook (Meta) ads CTR figures for 2026 run from about 1.2% to 3.2% depending on how a click is counted and what the campaign is optimized for. LocaliQ's traffic-objective average is 1.93% and its lead-generation average is 2.70%; Databox's live cross-account median is 1.90% when every click counts, but only 1.18% when only clicks to your destination count. Most of the spread is about which clicks are counted and what the ad is optimized to do, not which advertiser is better or worse. 9 figures from 3 sources, grouped by what they count (meta ads ctr (facebook + instagram) is charted too, but not part of the headline range). We never average them.

Published Facebook ads CTR figures by way of counting, from 1.18% to 2.7%. Every figure is listed in the source list below.

CTR (all clicks)1 figure · 1 source
Link click-through rate1 figure · 1 source
Traffic-objective campaigns1 figure · 1 source
Lead-generation campaigns1 figure · 1 source
Meta Ads CTR (Facebook + Instagram)2 figures · 1 source

Tap or hover a point to see its source.

Current figure Older, undated or a top-10% tierEvery figure is also in the source list below.

Key findings

Each one cites its source figures.

1.93% vs 2.70%

LocaliQ's 2026 benchmark shows lead-generation campaigns clicking noticeably more than traffic campaigns (2.70% vs 1.93%), a pattern also seen on Google Ads: the format and what you're asking someone to do moves CTR more than most industry differences do.

LocaliQ (published in partnership with WordStream by LocaliQ)
1.90% vs 1.18%

Databox's live benchmark, drawn from close to 2,800 companies, publishes two CTRs for the same accounts: 1.90% when every click counts (likes, shares, profile taps) and 1.18% when only clicks to your destination count. Compare against whichever one your ad platform reports by default.

Databox
1.46% to 2.73%

LocaliQ's traffic-objective CTR by industry runs from 1.46% (Finance & Insurance) to 2.73% (Beauty & Personal Care), with Restaurants & Food close behind at 2.68%. A 2x spread by industry is normal; compare your account to its own vertical, not the all-industry average.

LocaliQ (published in partnership with WordStream by LocaliQ)

Same data, different answers

How the way of counting changes the number, on one scale.

Traffic vs lead-generation objective

Same platform, same period, two campaign objectives: asking for a native lead form gets more clicks than asking for a visit to your site.

LocaliQ 2026 benchmark
Traffic objective1.93%
Lead-generation objective2.7%

Source by source

Open any source for its definition, sample and method.

LocaliQ (published in partnership with WordStream by LocaliQ)Facebook Advertising Benchmarks for 2026 · 2026 edition1.93%traffic-objective campaigns2.7%lead-generation campaignsGrade B
What counts
Traffic-objective vs lead-generation-objective campaigns across 22 industries. Whether CTR counts all clicks or link clicks only is not stated on this page.
Statistic
Average (not otherwise defined)
Sample
Not stated on this page (pooled LocaliQ/WordStream advertiser accounts across 22 industries)
Data window
Not stated on this page
Method
LocaliQ states the data is produced with WordStream by LocaliQ; the fuller methodology lives on WordStream's own benchmark page, which returned HTTP 403 to our fetcher and was not independently verified in this pass.
Published cuts
industry (22) · objective (traffic vs lead generation)
Limitations
  • Sample size and data window not stated on this page
  • CTR definition (all clicks vs link clicks) not stated
  • Same underlying data/partnership as WordStream, so not a fully independent second source
  • Vendor-reported (LocaliQ/WordStream advertiser accounts, agency/SMB skew)
Licence
LocaliQ's published legal pages found in this pass are product/subscription terms for its marketing-services platform, not website-content terms; nothing restricting citation of published blog figures was found. Headline plus a handful of cuts, attributed and linked.
Checked
Sep 30, 2026 · Read the source
DataboxFacebook Ads Benchmarks: Compare Your Meta Ads Metrics · Live benchmark, updated monthly1.9%ctr (all clicks)1.18%link click-through rateGrade A
What counts
Publishes both CTR (All) — every click, including reactions and profile taps — and Link CTR — clicks to the destination only — for the same account set.
Statistic
Median, with bottom-25%/top-25% percentiles
Sample
Over 2,800 companies, ranging from 1,000 to over 100,000 employees, using Databox's analytics platform
Data window
Rolling; page states "last updated on September 30, 2026"
Method
Real-time anonymized data pooled from companies connecting their Facebook/Meta Ads accounts to Databox; updated monthly.
Published cuts
metric: CTR (all) vs Link CTR · percentile (bottom 25% / median / top 25%) · can be filtered by industry, company size and revenue inside the live tool
Limitations
  • Databox customers only (skews toward data-driven marketing teams already using a reporting tool)
  • Live/rolling benchmark: the exact figure will have moved by the time this is read
  • An older Databox blog post citing a smaller 2021-era sample (1,54% median, ~1,250 companies) is inconsistent with this live page and was not used
Licence
PENDING: Databox's Terms of Service bar "copying, redistribution, use or publication" of unspecified "matters" that appear (in context) to describe the Databox software/dashboard product rather than its public marketing blog; this page is explicitly published as a public, citable benchmark. Treated as quote-eligible with a handful of cuts, attributed and linked; owner should re-check before wider reuse.
Checked
Sep 30, 2026 · Read the source
Triple WhaleFacebook Ad Benchmarks by Industry (Updated 2026 Data) · 20262.39%meta ads ctr (facebook + instagram) · Ecommerce brands using Triple Whale2.06%meta ads ctr (facebook + instagram) · Ecommerce brands using Triple WhaleGrade A
What counts
Meta Ads CTR (Facebook + Instagram inclusive) for ecommerce brands — not a Facebook-only figure, so not directly comparable to LocaliQ's or Databox's Facebook-specific CTR above without noting the scope difference.
Statistic
Median (publisher states median for CTR/ROAS in narrative)
Sample
Over 40,000 ecommerce brands using Triple Whale; Meta Ads includes Facebook and Instagram
Data window
2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31 (current); 2024-08-01 to 2025-07-31 (prior-period comparator)
Method
Triple Whale analysis of Meta Ads performance for ecommerce brands using its platform, Facebook and Instagram inclusive.
Published cuts
overall plus 17 ecommerce verticals · current period vs. prior-year period
Limitations
  • Ecommerce/DTC-heavy Triple Whale customer population
  • Meta includes Facebook and Instagram, so not a Facebook-only CTR
  • Only the two headline Meta Ads CTR figures are reported; the publisher's per-vertical table is not reproduced
Licence
Reported here as factual findings in our own wording and presentation, with attribution and a link to the source. This is not a claim that Triple Whale has granted a reproduction licence, and we do not copy its prose, charts, tables or page design. Its Terms of Service restrict copying, distributing or disclosing site content, including screenshots; we copy none of its page, tables or screenshots and treat citing a published headline figure as outside that clause. Flagged for review: this is the most broadly worded clause of the sources used.
Checked
Oct 1, 2026 · Read the source
1 more publishers, linked but not quoted

These publishers' terms do not allow their figures to be reproduced without permission (or we could not confirm that they do), so we link to their reports instead of showing the numbers.

By industry

Selected figures, each with its source. Full tables live in each publisher's report.

By industry
Beauty & Personal CareLocaliQ (published in partnership with WordStream by LocaliQ) · traffic-objective campaigns2.73%
Restaurants & FoodLocaliQ (published in partnership with WordStream by LocaliQ) · traffic-objective campaigns2.68%
Finance & InsuranceLocaliQ (published in partnership with WordStream by LocaliQ) · traffic-objective campaigns1.46%

Why sources disagree

Each factor moves the number on its own.

LocaliQ's Facebook benchmark page is explicitly published "in partnership with our friends at WordStream by LocaliQ" — the two companies are under the same ownership (Gannett) and the full Meta Ads breakdown is hosted on WordStream's own site, which could not be fetched directly in this pass (HTTP 403).

LocaliQ, Facebook Advertising Benchmarks for 2026
Which clicks count

Meta's CTR (all) includes likes, comments, shares and profile taps; Link CTR counts only clicks to your destination. Databox publishes both for the same accounts: 1.90% vs 1.18%. Most third-party benchmark pages (LocaliQ, WordStream) do not say which one they report, so their headline figures should be read as closer to CTR (all).

Campaign objective

LocaliQ's traffic-objective average (1.93%) and lead-generation average (2.70%) differ by 40%, even before any industry cut. A blended CTR across objectives tells you less than a same-objective comparison.

Industry mix

LocaliQ's traffic-objective CTR by industry ranges from 1.46% (Finance & Insurance) to 2.73% (Beauty & Personal Care). An all-industry average sits between the two and describes neither vertical well.

Who the data comes from

LocaliQ/WordStream's figures come from agency and SMB advertiser accounts on their platform; Databox's come from companies using Databox's own analytics/reporting product, a different and likely more data-mature customer mix. Neither is a random sample of all Facebook advertisers.

Placement is not broken out

None of the sources on this page split CTR by placement (Feed, Stories, Reels, Audience Network). A single account's blended CTR depends on its placement mix as much as on its industry.

What is a good Facebook ads CTR?

It depends on how your platform counts and who you send to.

If you're optimizing for traffic

LocaliQ's 2026 traffic-objective average is 1.93%, ranging from 1.46% (Finance & Insurance) to 2.73% (Beauty & Personal Care) by industry.

If you're optimizing for leads

LocaliQ's 2026 lead-generation average is 2.70% — meaningfully higher than traffic campaigns on the same platform.

If your reporting counts every click (Meta's default)

Databox's live median of 1.90% (bottom quartile 1.19%, top quartile 3.24%, across close to 2,800 companies) is the closer comparison.

If your reporting counts only link clicks

Use Databox's 1.18% link-CTR median instead of its 1.90% headline — the two are not the same metric.

Before you compare

  • Never average the all-clicks and link-click figures together: they count different things, and Databox shows the gap is about 0.7 points on the same accounts.
  • WordStream's own Facebook Ads benchmark page (the source LocaliQ's page points to for the full breakdown) returned HTTP 403 to our fetcher and could not be independently verified in this pass; its LocaliQ-partnered figures are shown here, but WordStream itself is listed link-only.
  • Databox also publishes an older blog post ("What Is a Good CTR for Facebook Ads?") citing a smaller, 2021-vintage sample (~1,250 companies, 1.54% median) that is inconsistent with its own current live benchmark (~2,800 companies, 1.90%); the current live page is used here, and the older post is a sign that Databox's own blog content is not always kept in sync with its live dashboard.
Show 3 more cautions
  • Every figure here is vendor-reported (each company's own platform customers), not a random sample of all Facebook advertisers.
  • No source here breaks CTR out by placement (Feed vs Stories vs Reels vs Audience Network), which can move an account's blended CTR as much as industry does.
  • Triple Whale's Meta Ads CTR (named in Sources below) includes Instagram alongside Facebook — don't treat it as a Facebook-only figure when comparing against LocaliQ's or Databox's Facebook-specific numbers.

How to calculate Facebook ads CTR

CTR = clicks ÷ impressions × 100
  • Say which clicks you mean: Meta's default CTR (all) counts likes, comments, shares and profile taps; Link CTR counts only clicks to your destination.
  • Compare within the same campaign objective (traffic vs lead-generation vs conversions) before comparing across industries.
  • Compare against your own industry's figure, not the all-industry average — LocaliQ's 2026 traffic-objective range is 1.46% to 2.73% by industry.

Questions about Facebook ads CTRs

Tools to measure and improve it

Chosen for what they do, not ranked.

Sources and licence notes4 sources · 3 quoted · 1 linked only · checked Oct 1, 2026
  1. LocaliQ (published in partnership with WordStream by LocaliQ), Facebook Advertising Benchmarks for 2026 · 2026 edition · last checked Sep 30, 2026
    LocaliQ's published legal pages found in this pass are product/subscription terms for its marketing-services platform, not website-content terms; nothing restricting citation of published blog figures was found. Headline plus a handful of cuts, attributed and linked.
  2. Databox, Facebook Ads Benchmarks: Compare Your Meta Ads Metrics · Live benchmark, updated monthly · last checked Sep 30, 2026
    PENDING: Databox's Terms of Service bar "copying, redistribution, use or publication" of unspecified "matters" that appear (in context) to describe the Databox software/dashboard product rather than its public marketing blog; this page is explicitly published as a public, citable benchmark. Treated as quote-eligible with a handful of cuts, attributed and linked; owner should re-check before wider reuse.
  3. WordStream by LocaliQ, Facebook Ads Benchmarks 2026: NEW Data, Trends, & Insights for Your Industry · 2026 edition · last checked Sep 30, 2026
    Linked only. PENDING: the page returned HTTP 403 to our fetcher and could not be read directly in this pass, so neither its figures nor its terms of use could be verified. Link only.
  4. Triple Whale, Facebook Ad Benchmarks by Industry (Updated 2026 Data) · 2026 · last checked Oct 1, 2026
    Reported here as factual findings in our own wording and presentation, with attribution and a link to the source. This is not a claim that Triple Whale has granted a reproduction licence, and we do not copy its prose, charts, tables or page design. Its Terms of Service restrict copying, distributing or disclosing site content, including screenshots; we copy none of its page, tables or screenshots and treat citing a published headline figure as outside that clause. Flagged for review: this is the most broadly worded clause of the sources used.

These are figures reported by the platforms themselves about their own customers; we do not measure them ourselves. Found an error or a newer edition? Tell us