Cart abandonment rate benchmarks
Cart abandonment rate is the share of online shopping carts started but not completed at checkout. Here is every published figure we can show, side by side, with what each one counts.
50.9% to 81.64%
Baymard Institute's meta-analysis of 50 published studies puts the average documented cart abandonment rate at 70.22%, a figure that has held in the high-60s to low-70s for over a decade. SaleCycle's regional figures for the UK and Western Europe point the same direction but higher and less precisely stated: more than 70% across UK and European markets, with mobile shoppers abandoning noticeably more than desktop shoppers everywhere both publishers report it. The headline range covers one dataset with one definition (Dynamic Yield's live panel, counted from carts created) across regions, devices and industries; Baymard's compiled average and SaleCycle's regional figures use different or unstated denominators, so they are charted separately rather than folded into that range. 17 figures from 3 sources, grouped by what they count (meta-analysis average (many studies), single-vendor regional report is charted too, but not part of the headline range). We never average them.
Published cart abandonment rate figures by way of counting, from 69% to 88%. Every figure is listed in the source list below.
Tap or hover a point to see its source.
Key findings
Each one cites its source figures.
Baymard Institute's meta-analysis of 50 published studies (2006–2025) is the most-cited single reference point for this metric, and has held in the high-60s to low-70s for over a decade.
Baymard InstituteSaleCycle's own regional data shows mobile running 6 to 9 points above desktop in both the UK and France.
SaleCycleSource by source
Open any source for its definition, sample and method.
Baymard Institute50 Cart Abandonment Rate Statistics · Continuously updated compilation (originally published 2013)70.22%meta-analysis average (many studies)Grade A
- What counts
- A cart or checkout started but not completed, as defined by each of the 50 underlying studies; Baymard does not impose one definition, it compiles each publisher's own reported rate.
- Statistic
- Simple average across the 50 documented figures
- Sample
- 50 separately published abandonment-rate studies/statistics
- Data window
- 2006–2025 (the 50 underlying studies span this range)
- Method
- Baymard collected 50 publicly reported cart-abandonment statistics from other research firms and vendors (including SaleCycle, Fresh Relevance, Kibo Commerce, Barilliance, Listrak and others, 2006–2025) and took a simple arithmetic average across them, explicitly to resolve what it calls 'large fluctuations in the actual abandonment rates' cited elsewhere.
- Published cuts
- none on this page: a single aggregate figure, not broken down by industry or device
- Limitations
- An average of other publishers' own figures, each with its own undisclosed sample and methodology, not one study of Baymard's own checkout data
- No device or industry breakdown on this specific page
- A large share of abandonment is window-shopping and price comparison rather than a fixable checkout problem, as Baymard itself notes
- A widely cited Statista chart for this exact statistic appears to draw on this same Baymard-compiled figure rather than an independent measurement; treat the two as one source, not two
- Licence
- Baymard's own published research list, written for citation and widely cited across the ecommerce industry; terms not re-checked this pass. Headline figure quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 30, 2026 · Read the source
SaleCycleCart Abandonment Rate in UK and European Ecommerce: Causes, Impacts, and Solutions · 2025 article70%+single-vendor regional report, UK & EU markets (overall)~69%single-vendor regional report, UK, desktop~77%single-vendor regional report, UK, mobileGrade B
- What counts
- Not formally defined on the page; consistent with the 'started but not completed' cart/checkout definition used elsewhere in this category.
- Statistic
- Stated as approximate ranges and qualifiers, not precise averages, for most cuts
- Sample
- Not disclosed
- Data window
- Not stated
- Method
- Not disclosed on the page: no stated sample size or data window, unlike Baymard's compiled list.
- Published cuts
- country/region (UK, France, Italy, Spain) · device (mobile, desktop, tablet) · sector (named qualitatively, without precise rates)
- Limitations
- No sample size or data window disclosed
- Most figures are given as ranges or qualifiers ('more than', 'close to', 'often above') rather than precise averages, shown here as approximate
- Sector-level rates are described only in words (for example 'fashion and travel: between 75% and 85%'), with no single publishable number, so they are not listed in values
- Licence
- SaleCycle's own published blog research, written for citation; terms not re-checked this pass. Regional and device figures quoted with attribution, flagged as approximate.
- Checked
- Sep 30, 2026 · Read the source
Dynamic Yield by MastercardShopping Cart Abandonment Rate for eCommerce – XP² · Live benchmark77.46%created cart, no completed purchaseGrade A
- What counts
- Created cart with no completed purchase, out of total carts created — a cart-based denominator (not sessions or checkouts started).
- Statistic
- Average (publisher label)
- Sample
- Aggregated across 200M+ monthly unique users from 400+ brands and 300M+ total sessions
- Data window
- Trailing 12 months as shown on the live page (accessed 2026-10-01); exact start/end dates not stated and the window moves over time
- Method
- Aggregated ecommerce behavioral data across Dynamic Yield's live customer panel, broken out by device, geography and industry; the live benchmark updates over time.
- Published cuts
- device (desktop, mobile, tablet) · geography (Americas, EMEA, APAC) · industry
- Limitations
- A live, continuously updated benchmark — the exact population and date window shift over time rather than describing one fixed study
- Population is Dynamic Yield's own customer base
- Cart-created denominator; not directly comparable to a session- or checkout-started denominator
- Licence
- Reported here as factual findings in our own wording and presentation, with attribution and a link to the source. This is not a claim that Dynamic Yield has granted a reproduction licence, and we do not copy its prose, charts, tables or page design. Mastercard's Terms of Use are generic sitewide boilerplate (a personal-use licence covering the whole mastercard.com domain); we read them as not specifically restricting citation of published benchmark figures. Flagged for review: the clause is broadly worded and the owner is a large corporate publisher.
- Checked
- Oct 1, 2026 · Read the source
By industry and region
Selected figures, each with its source. Full tables live in each publisher's report.
Why sources disagree
Each factor moves the number on its own.
Baymard Institute estimates this is the value of orders abandoned each year across the US and EU purely from checkout usability issues — a subset of all abandonment, not the full 70.22% figure.
Baymard InstituteA meta-analysis average, or one publisher's own tracked sessions
Baymard's 70.22% is an average of 50 other publishers' own figures, each with its own undisclosed sample; it is not one study of real checkout sessions. SaleCycle's regional figures come from its own tracked sessions but with no disclosed sample size, so neither figure is fully auditable on its own.
Mobile vs desktop, everywhere it's reported
Every device cut SaleCycle publishes shows mobile abandoning more than desktop: UK (about 77% vs 69%), France (about 88% vs 79%). Baymard's page does not publish a device breakdown at all, so its 70.22% figure is a blend across all devices.
Precise averages vs stated ranges
Baymard's figure is a single precise average. Most of SaleCycle's figures are qualifiers ('more than 70%', 'close to 88%', 'above 86%'), not precise averages, so treat them as approximate even where we show a number.
What is a good cart abandonment rate?
It depends on how your platform counts and who you send to.
Setting a baseline target
Baymard's 70.22% meta-analysis average is the most defensible single reference point: it smooths over 50 studies' worth of sample and methodology differences rather than relying on any one vendor's tracked sessions.
Mobile checkout specifically
Every mobile-vs-desktop comparison SaleCycle publishes shows mobile abandoning more: about 77% vs 69% in the UK, about 88% vs 79% in France. If your store is mobile-heavy, benchmark against the higher end of this range, not the 70.22% blended average.
UK and Western European stores
SaleCycle's regional figures (UK ~69–77%, France ~79–88%, Italy ~83%, Spain ~86%) all sit at or above Baymard's 70.22% blended average, consistent with that aggregate being closer to a floor than a ceiling for European ecommerce.
Before you compare
- Never treat Baymard's average and SaleCycle's regional figures as fully independent confirmations of each other: Baymard's compiled list of 50 studies has historically drawn on SaleCycle's own published figures among its sources, so the two can overlap.
- Most of SaleCycle's figures are stated as approximate ranges or qualifiers ('more than', 'close to', 'above'), not precise averages; we show a number for charting purposes, flagged with a display override, but the source itself does not commit to one.
- SaleCycle's article discloses no sample size or data window, unlike Baymard's compiled list; weight it accordingly.
Show 2 more cautions
- A widely cited Statista chart on this exact statistic appears to republish Baymard's compiled figure rather than an independent measurement; we do not list Statista as a separate source for that reason, to avoid double-counting one dataset as two.
- Mobile checkouts tend to abandon at a materially higher rate than desktop, and the gap varies further by industry and region — a single headline figure can obscure a large mobile-specific problem (or a desktop-specific one).
How to calculate cart abandonment rate
- Decide where the cart-creation event fires (add-to-cart, or checkout-started) before comparing your rate with either source; the two stages can produce very different rates for the same store.
- Baymard's figure blends all devices together; if you want a device-specific comparison, use SaleCycle's mobile/desktop cuts instead, treating them as approximate.
- A meaningful share of abandonment is window-shopping, not a fixable checkout problem, per Baymard's own note — don't treat 0% abandonment as an achievable target.
Questions about cart abandonment rates
Tools to measure and improve it
Chosen for what they do, not ranked.
SMS abandoned-cart recovery, a direct response to the checkout-stage drop-off this page measures.
Web-push abandoned-cart reminders that don't require an email or phone number.
Post-purchase upsell app for recovering more value once a cart does convert.
Exit-intent popups built for cart-abandonment and email-capture campaigns.
Sources and licence notes3 sources · 3 quoted · 0 linked only · checked Oct 1, 2026
- Baymard Institute, 50 Cart Abandonment Rate Statistics · Continuously updated compilation (originally published 2013) · last checked Sep 30, 2026Baymard's own published research list, written for citation and widely cited across the ecommerce industry; terms not re-checked this pass. Headline figure quoted with attribution.
- SaleCycle, Cart Abandonment Rate in UK and European Ecommerce: Causes, Impacts, and Solutions · 2025 article · last checked Sep 30, 2026SaleCycle's own published blog research, written for citation; terms not re-checked this pass. Regional and device figures quoted with attribution, flagged as approximate.
- Dynamic Yield by Mastercard, Shopping Cart Abandonment Rate for eCommerce – XP² · Live benchmark · last checked Oct 1, 2026Reported here as factual findings in our own wording and presentation, with attribution and a link to the source. This is not a claim that Dynamic Yield has granted a reproduction licence, and we do not copy its prose, charts, tables or page design. Mastercard's Terms of Use are generic sitewide boilerplate (a personal-use licence covering the whole mastercard.com domain); we read them as not specifically restricting citation of published benchmark figures. Flagged for review: the clause is broadly worded and the owner is a large corporate publisher.
These are figures reported by the platforms themselves about their own customers; we do not measure them ourselves. Found an error or a newer edition? Tell us
